Wike Reveals Support for Candidate G5 as Senate President and Highlights PDP’s Limitations

Former Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, recently disclosed the candidates he and other members of the G5 supported for key positions in the 10th National Assembly. During a press conference in Port Harcourt, Wike revealed that they backed Godswill Akpabio for the position of Senate President and Tajudeen Abbas for the role of Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Wike explained that their support for Akpabio stemmed not only from his qualifications and competence for the role but also from the fact that Akpabio had supported him during his own campaign for governorship. He emphasized that once their support was pledged, the G5 couldn’t withdraw it midway, confidently stating that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had no grounds to question their actions.

Wike further expressed his belief that the 10th National Assembly would not simply serve as a rubber stamp for the executive branch. He expressed confidence in Akpabio’s abilities and argued that a harmonious relationship between the executive and legislative arms of government did not imply a submissive assembly.

According to Wike, Akpabio’s emergence from the South-South as Senate President is a clear indication that Nigerians value national unity. He also praised President Bola Tinubu for his commitment to preventing the country from being polarized.

“I don’t believe Akpabio will be a rubber stamp. I supported him because he supported me during my governorship campaign. Akpabio is a competent, qualified, and eloquent individual who can represent this country effectively. What more qualifications do you need?” Wike asserted.

He added, “The G5 Governors, including Rivers State, supported Akpabio because we remained consistent in our support. We couldn’t withdraw it.”

The term “G5” refers to the five former and incumbent governors who opposed the Peoples Democratic Party’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, during the 2023 elections due to their disagreements with the party’s zoning arrangement. The group includes Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, along with former governors Wike, Samuel Ortom (Benue), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), and Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *